2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship

2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship

For the first time in the history of the tournament, the 2009 NCAA Women’s Volleyball Championship is headed to the Sunshine State. The Tampa Bay Sports Commission in partnership with the St. Pete Times Forum, the Tampa Bay Convention & Visitors Bureau, and the University of South Florida, will host event (semifinals and finals) to crown the national champion December 17-19, 2009.

“Palace Sports and Entertainment is continually trying to bring positive attention to our community, showcasing it to the country as a very desirable place to live, work and play,” said Ron Campbell, president of the St. Pete Times Forum and the Tampa Bay Lightning. “We make it a priority to put our best foot forward when competing for these marquee events and then back it up by treating our guests to a first class experience.”

“This is outstanding news!” said Paul Catoe, President/CEO of the Tampa Bay Convention & Visitors Bureau. “To be selected as the host city is a tremendous honor, and we are so pleased to add this prestigious event to our already impressive lineup. We expect a great tournament, drawing thousands of fans and creating significant media exposure and economic impact to the community.”

In 2005, the Volleyball Championships were held in San Antonio, TX featuring the University of Nebraska, Santa Clara University, the University of Tennessee and eventual National Champions, the University of Washington.

“We could not be more elated to serve as host for the 2009 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship,” said Rob Higgins, Executive Director of the Tampa Bay Sports Commission. “We look forward to welcoming all of the student-athletes, coaches, and fans for the event’s first-ever trip to the Sunshine State in December of 2009.”


The 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament began on December 3, 2009 with 64 teams and ended on December 19, when Penn State defeated Texas, 3-2, in the NCAA National Championship match. With the win, Penn State won its fourth overall title, and became the first team in the history of women's intercollegiate volleyball to win three straight national titles. Penn State also became the first team in NCAA history to have two straight undefeated seasons, as the 2009 squad went 38-0 for the second straight year, extending the ongoing NCAA record of consecutive matches won.